top of page

10 Travel Beauty Products I Would Die Without

I love makeup. I love to travel. I love to buy makeup while traveling.

I do not, however, love packing my makeup bag full of products that, in all honesty, have a high probability of going unused during my travels.

As much as I appreciate the options I have when packing 5 different lipsticks, deep in my heart I know I’ll stick to the most natural color and rock that look throughout my trip.

So, combining the never-ending quest of finding life-changing beauty essentials and the very tall order of trying to pack as little as possible, I have come across 10 travel beauty products I would die without.

I actually still don’t know how I previously survived without them....

The holy grail!

Although I am well past my teen years, my face still likes to act as though it’s stuck in high school. It is sensitive and acne-prone, and seems to like dressing up as a beautifully ripe tomato. While my skin lives that adolescent lifestyle, the heavy bags under my eyes have me confused with an always-exhausted mom of six, sporting a color as dark as the night sky. And While I love the “paint-by-problem” art project opportunity my skin gives me to to use my color-correcting palette, that’s not how I want to spend my time when traveling.

Enter this CC cream by It Cosmetics. My first time using this product, I actually stared at my skin in the mirror in disbelief because of how great my skin looked. This full coverage color-correcting cream is hydrating, long-wearing, and protects your skin with SPF 50.

cicapair face

If I were ever in a terrible situation in which someone forced me to chose one product from my makeup bag before using the rest of the contents as very expensive kindling for a fire, I would not hesitate in making this treatment my choice. I swear, this product changed my life.

Plagued by very fair, sensitive, acne-prone skin with a plethora of underlying redness, this color correcting treatment was a godsend. The cream changes from green to beige when rubbed on your skin and self-adjusts to your skin tone. It reduces redness

and inflammation, smoothes and moisturizes

your skin, and keeps your face protected with SPF 30.

On the odd day that my skin is looking clear, I can use this and skip foundation. On the other 364 days a year, it’s a great base and allows me to use less foundation without sacrificing coverage. Use this treatment and start living your best life, free from facial redness, sensitivity, and sun damage.

I don’t leave my house without this vegan Rosebud Salve tucked in my purse. Since purchasing this a few months back, it has become one of my favorite travel companions. As a multipurpose balm, it can be used not only to hydrate lips, but for any areas of dry skin. I slather this on my hands, cuticles, knees, elbows, and heels when they need extra moisture. The soothing rose extract also relieves any minor skin irritations, from bug bites to razor burn. When traveling light, I mix this with blush to give my lips a pop or color, dab some on my cheekbones for highlighting, and use under my eyes to help keep lines and wrinkles at bay.

Where have these been my entire life? I shouted into the mirror while removing the patches after first-time use. These babies are pure magic and have made my life-long struggle with acne a thing of the past (almost). As soon as a see a pimple or feel a cyst coming, I slap these on my face where needed and go to sleep for the type of rest that only comes from knowing my face won’t look as disastrous when I wake up. These take up no room in my makeup bag and make a huge difference when I have a breakout. My only wish is that they made these as a whole sheet mask for the times when my skin calls for a whole box of patches.

I can confidently say that I could fill a small carry-on with all my skin care products, so finding multi-purpose products is a crucial part of my ongoing attempt at learning to pack properly. Throw a few of these in a bag, say hello to all the space you’ve saved, and say goodbye to any excuse for not removing your makeup at night.These water activated cloths act as a makeup remover, cleanser, scrub, mask, and toner. The textured cloth exfoliates and smooths skin, leaving your face feeling clean and hydrated. Water activation means no worrying about the dryness that can strike upon facial wipes or having to take the whole pack along for the ride. One cloth is more than enough to remove your whole face, so life hack it and cut them in half, using the space you’ve saved for an extra lip color and the money you've saved on an extra, but necessary, order of your favorite street food.

Having combination skin, I have different moisturizing creams to use based on how my skin feels day-to-day. When traveling, however, I don’t have the space to pack multiple moisturizers. Thankfully, I came across this cruelty-free 8-in-1 cream to meet the needs of my ever-changing skin. This cream is lightweight and very hydrating. It stimulates collagen production, increasing your skin’s firmness and elasticity. It also smoothes textured skin and brightens your complexion. My skin feels incredibly soft after using this at night, and acts as a great primer under makeup during the day.

[if !supportLists]7. [endif]Perricone MD No Eyeshadow Eyeshadow

This no eyeshadow eyeshadow by MD Perricone will forever be a staple in my makeup bag. While I love to rock a dramatic eye, oily lids combined with day-long travel adventures makes doing so nearly impossible. This product allows me to work that no make-up look, without having to worry about the veins in my eyelids making an appearance and scaring other tourists. This no eyeshadow eyeshadow is anti-aging, crease-proof, and long-wearing. Not only is at a universally flattering shade (it looks very dark in the bottle, but somehow adjusts to match my very pale skin), but it tightens and firms your eyelids as well. It’s perfect for wearing on its own in addition to being a great base for additional eyeshadow application.

[if !supportLists]8. [endif]NYX Professional Makeup 3-in-1 Brow

Apart from taking out the trash or grabbing the mail, I don’t go anywhere without tending to my sparse, almost-non-existent eyebrows. This 3-in-1 product is all you need when traveling to keep your brows on point. This versatile product features a retractable pencil, shadow with smudger, and a brow mascara. The pencil glides smoothly, the powder blends well, and the mascara keeps any stray brows in place. Use your preferred weapon of choice on its own to keep things natural, or wear all three for a bolder look.

[if !supportLists]9. [endif]Maybelline FaceStudio Master Contour Kit

Love me a multi-use product and this palette doesn’t disappoint. I’m normally a cream contour and blush kind of girl, but I like to keep things light (in my luggage and on my face) when traveling. The powders are pigmented, but subtle, so they can be layered for a more dramatic look. The highlighter doubles as an allover eyeshadow, the contour can be blended into the crease for definition, and the blush can be mixed with rose salve for a natural-with-a-pop lip color.

[if !supportLists]10. [endif]Batiste Dry Shampoo

I wish I could see the look on my face in response to people telling me they have never used dry shampoo. It’s a mix of shock, incredulity, and excitement. Shock and incredulity because I can’t even believe how someone makes it through life without dry shampoo. Like, are they actually washing their hair consistently, not testing the limits of personal hygiene? If so, I would like to know where they get all their time and energy.

Excitement because dry shampoo is life-changing and is truly the only hair care product I cannot travel without. I use this even after washing my hair, as it adds body and keeps it from feeling too clean and slippery. Do yourself a favor. Get some dry

shampoo and figure out what to do with all that time normally spent washing your hair.

So there ya have it. Welcome to the world of "Glam-packing". Kind of like backpacking...but cuter.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page